Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

In this section:

Upgrading a VM instance involves the following steps:

  1. Create a new VM instance for each current VM on the host system. For more information on creating new VM instances see, Deploying and Creating DSC SWe Instance on VMware.

  2. Log on to the new VM instance. For more information on logging to a VM instance, see Logging into the DSC VM Instance.

  3. Configure VM instance network interfaces. For more information on configuring network interface, see Configuring Network Interfaces.

  4. Execute the upgrade command in the new VM instance. Proceed to the procedures in this section.

    Note

    The virtual console connection could be severed when a VM reboots during the upgrade. If this occurs, the operator must reinitialize the console connection. The interruption is dependent on the hypervisor and client-side utilities, and is not controlled by the VM.

Caution

Do not log onto the system using the shared IP address on the Routing and Management VMs during the upgrade procedures provided in this section. This address is disabled as part of the upgrade process.

Upgrading DSC SWe on VMware

Tip

It is highly recommended to make backup copies of system files prior to starting the upgrade. Forward the backup files to a safe and secure remote server for later retrieval, if needed. In the event an upgrade fails, the system may not be recoverable without restoring the system backup files. For more information about system backups, see Backing Up or Restoring System Configuration Files in the Platform Manager User Guide.

To upgrade the software on the VMs

All VMs must be upgraded to the new software.

For example, if you have two hosts systems and one host has two VMs and the other has four VMs, you must create two new VMs on the first host and four new VMs on the second host, and upgrade them to the new software.

Click to Read More...

To verify the VM software has been properly installed

Click to Read More...

Post Upgrade Processes

After the software upgrade is complete, verify the system configuration and data recorded before the upgrade (see Status Verification Before Upgrading the Software).

With consideration to any feature changes, validate the upgraded system. In case of any discrepancies in the system prior to and after upgrade, contact Customer Support before considering a software rollback to the software prior to the upgrade.

Note

A software rollback should only be performed in case severe issues occur shortly after the software upgrade. Any provisioning or configuration changes that have been made after an upgrade are lost during a rollback process.