Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Prior to the upgrade, the new software load (dsc_vm_16_x_x_xxx_vmw.ova file) is uploaded from the Sonus Global Support Portal onto a space accessible by the hypervisor.

The dsc_vm_16_x_x_xxx_vmw.ova file is used to install new VMs (one for each old VM) via the hypervisor.

Following the installation of the new VMs using the dsc_vm_16_x_x_xxx_vmw.ova file, the following procedures must be performed:

  • pre-upgrade check before the upgrade process

  • execution of upgrade process from the command line using the console connected to one of the new VMs

 

Note

The SS7 and DSC application software are referred to in this document as DSC SWe software.


The referenced system configuration in this section consists of two host hardware platforms directly connected and running two virtual machines (VMs) each with DSC SWe software.

Note

The DSC SWe supports up to ten VMs on each host hardware platform.


The host hardware platform is equipped with a VM that has routing and management capabilities (Routing and Management VM). This platform may be equipped with additional VMs that only have routing capability (Routing VMs).

For information about all supported hardware configurations, see the Installation Guide .

Service on a properly configured DSC SWe should not be impacted by the software upgrade process. During this process, the VMs are stopped, are upgraded to the new software, and are restarted in such an order that the traffic is not interrupted on the system.

It is assumed that your network is configured with redundancy such as two VMs to accommodate a switchover of traffic from VM to the other, while the software upgrade takes place.

Note

The VM that is being upgraded is referred to as the standby system and the VM that is managing the additional traffic is referred to as the active system.

All the examples in this document assume a Linux/Unix environment. Alternatively, utilities such as psftp.exe and putty.exe can be used in a Windows environment to SSH.

The screen captures for the system pre-upgrade, upgrade, and rollback between releases are the same with the exception of the version numbers in these screen captures.

It is recommended that you upgrade the software when the traffic levels are low to avoid the risk of triggering network congestion on the active system.

If you have to reset the system date and time, it is recommended that you perform this task during the maintenance window. For more information, see the Platform Manager User Guide.

Follow the upgrade procedures as described in Software Upgrade Process - VMware.

Caution

Do not log onto the platform using the shared IP address on the Routing and Management VMs during the upgrade procedures provided in this section. The address is disabled as part of the upgrade process.