Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

In this section:

 

The SBC Core CLI includes two modes:

  • System Mode—The default mode when you first login to CLI for performing various system-level operations and viewing configuration details, status and statistics.
  • Configure Mode—Use this mode to create, modify, view, and delete configurable SBC objects.

System Mode

The following system operations are available from the top-level (System) CLI mode:

  • change-password  – Change your password
  • commit – Confirm a pending commit
  • configure – Switch to Configure mode to provision the system.
  • exit – Exit the management session
  • help – View help information
  • quit – Exit the management session
  • request – Make system-level requests
  • reset – Reset the terminal
  • reset-password – Reset another user's password
  • set – Set CLI properties
  • set-path – Set relative show path
  • show – View information about the system
  • source – Select a CLI configuration file to load
  • top – Exit to top level and optionally run command
  • up – Exit one level of configuration

Configure Mode

To access Configure mode, enter the following command from CLI prompt:

admin@SBC1> configure <exclusive | private | no-confirm>

where,

<exclusive | private> represents the type of configuration access for the session, either Exclusive or Private. The no-confirm setting can be used in either Exclusive or Private sessions to suppress system prompts for confirmations when entering commands.

If you enter configure with no argument, the system defaults to the Private session.

The following operations are supported in both Exclusive and Private sessions:

  • commit – Commit the current set of changes
  • delete – Delete a data element
  • edit – Edit a sub-element
  • exit – Exit from this level
  • help – Provide help information
  • quit – Exit from this level
  • request – Make system-level requests
  • revert – Remove latest uncommitted configuration changes from memory
  • rollback – Roll back database to last committed version
  • set – Set a parameter, flag or configuration
  • show – Show a parameter
  • status – Display users currently editing the configuration
  • top – Exit to top level and optionally run command
  • up – Exit one level of configuration

To exit Configure mode, enter either quit or exit.

Note

The SBC limits the number of set operations to commit at one time (equates to modifying approximately 100 field values). To avoid errors, issue the commit command on a regular basis to execute small batches of commands.

Exclusive Session

The Exclusive session allows a user to exclusively configure the system via CLI. Only one exclusive session is possible at a time. An exclusive session cannot start if a private session is in the process of committing changes.

Below is an example of setting configure mode to ‘exclusive’.

admin@SBC1> configure exclusive
Entering configuration mode exclusive
Warning: uncommitted changes will be discarded on exit
[ok][2013-07-05 01:53:11]
 
[edit]
admin@SBC1%

Note

Uncommitted changes are discarded upon exit from Configure mode.

 

Private Session

Multiple private sessions can occur simultaneously. Committed changes in a private session will update the current configuration while other private sessions are open and active. Private sessions are allowed concurrently with an exclusive session; however, private session users cannot commit their changes until the exclusive session ends.

Note

Up to 16 simultaneous CLI sessions are allowed.  

 

The following is an example of setting a session to ‘private’:

admin@SBC1> configure private
Entering configuration mode private
[ok][2013-01-05 17:06:22]
 
[edit]
admin@SBC1%

Note

Uncommitted changes are discarded upon exit from Configure mode.

 

  • No labels