Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The 'roll back' procedures on this page describe how to restore your previous version of  SBC Edge (SBC) in the unlikely event that you encounter an issue with your  SBC Edge upgrade.

Before you begin

Prior to rolling back your  SBC Edge upgrade, ensure that you have a backup of your  SBC Edge data for the version you intend to roll back to.

Warning: Restoring From A 3.1 or Higher Configuration Backup

Do not attempt to restore your version 3.0 or earlier  SBC Edge configuration from a backup made using version 3.1 or higher release.  Doing so will result in a complete user lockout and the system must be reset to factory default to recover. 

Warning

Downgrading a node that has a value license or a Revised ASM (type Pentium or type Xeon) from release SBC Edge 6.1 to an earlier version is not allowed.

Performing the Rollback

Refer to the appropriate upgrade instructions below for your  SBC Edge hardware configuration:

Rollback SBC Edge with a Built-in ASM

(warning) The instructions in this section may be best coordinated with your Sonus service representative.

Similarly to upgrading, to ensure the Sonus can communicate with the ASM, you must downgrade the  SBC Edge Communication Service before downgrading the  SBC Edge software.

  1. Remotely login to the ASM via Remote Desktop.
  2. Manually uninstall the current  SBC Edge Communication Service from the Programs and Features via the Control Panel.
  3. From the Sonus SBC Edge Download Center, download the  SBC Edge Communication Service .zip file for the version that you are downgrading to.
  4. Open the .zip file and unpack it to a temporary folder. This will produce a Setup.msi file.
  5. Copy the Setup.msi onto a local folder directly onto the ASM.
  6. Launch the installer and proceed with the installation wizard.
  7. To ensure the  SBC Edge Communication Service was properly updated, verify the Sonus SBC 1000/2000 Communication Service Version has changed to the intended version.

Important ASM Note

If you are downgrading from 2.0.x (or later) to → 1.3.x (or earlier), all disabled Network Adapters on the ASM must be enabled. This is because the 2.0.x (or later) upgrade disables one of the network adapters (by design), and it must be re-enabled if you're downgrading to 1.3.x (or earlier).

  *Step 1*: Click here to view the instructions for enabling the network adapter
  1. From the Start menu - type View network connections and select it
  2. You will find at least one disabled network adapter. Enable it as shown below:

    Figure : Enable Network Adaptor

Once the network adapter is enabled, you must set the necessary permissions to allow the downgraded  SBC Edge Communication Service to Install ASM packages via the Sonus  SBC Edge WebUI.

  *Step 2*: Click here to view the instructions for setting the permissions
  1. From the Start menu - type Command Prompt and select it
  2. Enter (or paste in) the following commands - the order is important:

    nfsadmin server deletegroup Sonus SBC 1000/2000
    nfsadmin server creategroup Sonus SBC 1000/2000
    nfsadmin server addmembers Sonus SBC 1000/2000 169.254.1.1
    nfsshare public -o rw=Sonus SBC 1000/2000 root=Sonus SBC 1000/2000
    
  3. The results will be similar to:

    C:\Users\Administrator>nfsadmin server deletegroup Sonus SBC 1000/2000
    The settings were successfully updated.
    
    C:\Users\Administrator>nfsadmin server creategroup Sonus SBC 1000/2000
    The settings were successfully updated.
    
    C:\Users\Administrator>nfsadmin server addmembers Sonus SBC 1000/2000 169.254.1.1
    169.254.1.1 was successfully added to Sonus SBC 1000/2000.
    The settings were successfully updated.
    
    C:\Users\Administrator>nfsshare public -o rw=Sonus SBC 1000/2000 root=Sonus SBC 1000/2000
    Public was modified successfully
    

You now may proceed with rolling back the  SBC Edge software version, follow the instructions below

Rollback SBC Edge Software

The Sonus SBC 1000/2000 keeps its system software (firmware) in containers known as "Application Partitions". There are two application partitions, one of which is Active. When the Sonus SBC 1000/2000 system is operational, it is running off of the Active Partition, and the remaining (inactive) partition serves as a spare.

You can rollback to the previous  SBC Edge version stored in the inactive partition:

  1. To rollback the SBC Edge software, simply activate the inactive partition.
  2. Verify that you are booting from the new partition either by checking the active partition, or by Viewing the Software Version and Hardware ID.
  3. Restore the backup configuration data associated with the  SBC Edge version you have downgraded to.

This completes the rollback procedure.